Curriculum 2011-2012

So, um, I know I kind of haven’t blogged much lately. And this is going to be a pretty weird post to jump back in with. But Kris at Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers is having a curriculum link-up today and I decided rather at the last minute to participate. If you’re not aΒ  homeschooler this probably means absolutely nothing to you, so feel free to skip to the adorable picture at the bottom and leave a comment about that. πŸ™‚

This is our second year homeschooling; Bubs will be in 3rd grade and Stinky in 1st. I feel like I’ve kind of gotten my stride and feel a little more confident than I did last year. Which probably means I’m going to fall flat on my face halfway through the first week, right? πŸ˜‰

So here’s what we’re going to be doing.

Bubs (3rd Grade)

Handwriting: A Reason for Handwriting C. This is the same curriculum we used last year. It’s nothing special but it gets the job done and is a good price. Bubs will be reviewing and using the cursive he learned in second grade.

Grammar: Climbing to Good English Level C. I didn’t use a grammar curriculum last year, and I really don’t even remember what made me finally settle on this one when I was selecting curriculum at the end of the year. I think the price might have been a factor.

Reading: Pathway New Friends Reader. I didn’t use a graded reader last year with Bubs, but decided that in addition to literature study it would be good to have a simple graded reader for him to do read-alouds and comprehension questions from.

Math: Horizons Grade 3. We used Horizons last year and I was reasonably pleased with it so we’re continuing to use it this year.

Spelling: A Reason for Spelling C. Last year I just used spelling worksheets from online but I decided I wanted a workbook for him this year.

Literature: We’re using the reading list from Ambleside Online again this year. We didn’t do nearly all the books recommended last year, but I’m going to try to be more faithful in this area during the coming year. Most of this is me reading to him. This year will include The Jungle Book, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, American Tall Tales, some children’s versions of Shakespeare’s plays, and poetry by Blake, Teasdale, and Longfellow.

Stinky (1st Grade)

Handwriting: A Reason for Handwriting A

Phonics: Explode the Code, Book 3 and possibly 4. Stinky loves Explode the Code, and it really seems to work with the way his brain thinks. I’m going to also be choosing words from his pages each week for spelling, rather than using a separate spelling curriculum. We will also be using MCP Phonics to round out his phonics. It’s a lot, but he is still learning to read and I feel like these two curriculums work really well together to help him understand letter sounds. This is what he used during the second half of last year and we saw some pretty good progress.

Reading: Pathway First Steps Reader. Thanks to my sister for helping me make this decision. πŸ™‚

Math: Horizons Grade 1

Literature: Ambleside Online Year 1. His readings include Aesop, Milne, Robert Louis Stevenson, the Just So Stories, and a few of Shakespeare’s plays (children’s versions).

Both Boys

History: Mystery of History, volume 1. I chose this because I like that it takes a biblically-integrated approach to history. It also has really good reviews as a good curriculum to use for multiple grades. Volume 1 includes world history from Creation to the Resurrection. I’m excited to learn history with my boys, because I’m pretty weak in this area. We’ll be creating a timeline to go with our studies as well.

Science: Exploring Creation with Botany. Last year we did the astronomy textbook from this series and we loved it. I chose botany this year because we currently have a membership to the Des Moines Botanical Center, so we’ll be able to study plants up close and personal even during Iowa’s miserable winter months.

Other subjects: Both boys will be participating in AWANA this year, and working on their memory verses will be part of their schoolwork. We may also follow along at least a little with Ambleside’s composer and artist studies. The boys will hopefully still be participating in homeschool choir, and they will both be taking piano lessons this fall.

Oh look! A Cute picture!

Cousin bonding doesn't get much better than this.

 

4 thoughts on “Curriculum 2011-2012

  1. Super cute picture. πŸ™‚ Just reading about all that curriculum makes me a little sleepy. I blame the heat, not my newly developed brain-laziness. πŸ™‚

  2. My boys aren’t in school yet, well one’s in preschool, so I was going to just skip this post, then I saw the picture at the bottom and you’re right it is a really great picture.

    Cheers and good luck on the up coming school year.

  3. Very cute picture! πŸ™‚ That’s a great list. We used A Reason for Spelling very briefly a while ago, but then switched to Spelling City because we are computer junkies and prefer everything computer-y over everything workbook-y, lol. Out of the 5 families in our homeschool group, 4 use ARfS! πŸ™‚

    Good luck with your upcoming school year!
    Katie

Leave a Reply

