Tuesday Morning Coffee

It’s Tuesday and I’m having coffee! Would you care to join me?

I’ve been neglecting my Tuesday coffee posts lately. Summer has us so busy! Our kids had so much fun with their cousins, and we’ve done a bit of traveling, as well as being pirates for Vacation Bible School. We still have a lot of summer fun ahead– including our annual family reunion and our yearly trip to the Iowa State Fair. But there’s no doubt that my mind has turned ahead toward school. We probably won’t start till after Labor Day, but I am trying to think about it a little every day and make preparations so I’m ready when the time comes.

Art is mowing the lawn right now and the boys are playing outside before it gets too hot. We are definitely having a July heat wave. I prefer it to the cold but I have to say I wouldn’t mind losing some of the humidity. UGH! It just makes it so hard to function. I suppose I shouldn’t complain; we have air conditioning and a hose and a full supply of freezer pops. So what more could we ask for, right? (Well, I mean, aside from a Starbucks Frappuccino Delivery Service and a housemaid).

This morning Art finished updating his resume. This is a big deal, folks. He’s only a year away from graduating with his M.Div., and he’s starting to think about what will happen after that. He will be preaching at a church about an hour from here that doesn’t have a pastor for three weeks in August. (That sentence is a mess of poorly-placed modifiers, isn’t it?). It is starting to sink in that there is an end in sight when it comes to school. We got married when we were both still in college, and one or the other of us has been a student for nearly all of our marriage. So this is a bit of a change to contemplate. I am excited to see what God has in store for our family.

Today I have some very exciting things to do, like laundry and cooking and cleaning the bathrooms. It’s just a day, you know? An ordinary one. I’m feeling very grateful for the ordinariness. A lot of people I know are going through such difficulty right now. I guess I feel blessed by my laundry and dishes. At least right now I do. We’ll see if I still feel that way while I’m actually in the middle of them . . .

Thanks for sharing my coffee with me this morning. Hope your day is lovely.

<Photobucket

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Morning Coffee

  1. Where do I sign up for that Starbucks delivery service? And since I didn’t get the laundry finished yesterday I will be joining you with a load or two, also the dishes never seem to be done do they.

    Have a God blessed day!

  2. Hooray for an end in sight! 🙂 Having Art out of school will be like a whole new world for you guys. No wonder you can’t wait for this next year to start. 🙂

  3. Oh…the Iowa State Fair, a family tradition for sure. So, are you from Iowa? Have fun and make sure you eat a fried twinkie and see the butter cow. 🙂

    Thanks for coffee

  4. i too am feeling blessed by the ordinary. i’m so grateful for this because after a vacation of extra-ordinary the ordinary can be hard to settle back into. today i am thanking God for the laundry (their are mounds as the kids just got home from 2 weeks at camp), for the vehicle repair that didn’t break the bank, and that i get to make dinner and sit at the table with my family. yes, ordinariness is very good.

Leave a Reply

