Yay Coffee!

It’s Tuesday afternoon and I just sat down with a cup of yum, so I’d love it if you’d sit and join me. Of course, if you’re not in the mood for a cup of coffee, there’s also a pitcher of iced tea in the fridge or I could make you one of my kids’ favorite strawberry smoothies.

Today I am drinking out of my brand new coffee cup, given to me by my sister! I’m too lazy to take a picture of it, but this is what it looks like:

Isn’t it awesome? She’s awesome.

This is the two of us last Saturday.

We were eating s’mores and having girl talk. This is a yearly tradition when we go to my parents’ house in the summer.

My sister is moving to Spain next week. I am not in the mood to cry so I’m not going to talk about it right now.

Spain is very far away. Even farther than Vegas.

The good news is that we took so many pictures last weekend that I might not get them all edited till they come home from Spain. You know, in like four years.

In four years my children will be twelve, ten, and six.

But we weren’t going to talk about that, were we?

This is the kids singing in church on Sunday. It turned into a bit of a peep show. Apparently at one point Squeezy found something in her belly button and spent several minutes investigating it while the big kids sang.

Anyway, it was a good weekend. There was a giant playground, Mexican food, laser tag, cupcake baking, grilling, family talent night, late night games of Scrabble, family pictures, wading pools, sandbox digging, a slip and slide, homemade ice cream, and a whole bunch of other stuff I can’t remember. It was good.

And hopefully sometime I’ll find time to post pictures.

Now we’re back to real life, with just a few more weeks of summer. I’m trying to squeeze every last drop of awesome out of our summer before we have to start school. Not that I’m not looking forward to school starting, because I am. I’m excited about what we’re going to be doing this year and it’ll be good to have some more structure to our days. But, well, why rush? We still have trees to climb and sand castles to build and creeks to wade in and all sorts of good stuff to enjoy.

Like coffee on a Tuesday afternoon.

6 thoughts on “Yay Coffee!

  1. My sister(-in-law), moved to Papua New Guinea three years ago, and it tore my heart out. We can talk about it another time, after we’ve exhausted the other important things, like church peep shows and s’mores.

    Lots of hugs to you. ❤

  2. your sister is moving to spain! cool for her, and now you have a solid reason to indulge and go to spain!

    we chose to visit maui because my bro-in-law lives there. my s.i.l. lives in australia…so maybe we’ll visit there someday..maybe.

    kids are so funny. squeezy is getting big. maybe you don’t want me to bring that up.

    we need some structure around here too, but like you there are still a few things left to check off our summer fun list. i’m also excited about what we’re doing for school this year (excited for now, that excitement will wear off after day 3).

Leave a Reply

