But What Color is Thursday?

Today my son informed me that when he hears music he feels colors. Also that numbers have colors and some letters.

I went through several songs on my mp3 player and he named a color for each of them. Not always the colors you would think either– a very upbeat song was “dimmish colors, like dim gray and blue.” One song he described as blue green with spikes poking up from it. So apparently he also feels textures with the colors of songs. He even told me that sometimes a color will put a song into his head.

I think it’s really trippy. We looked it up. It’s called synesthesia.

I was hoping it would mean that my 8-year-old is a genius, but apparently it doesn’t. Thankfully it also doesn’t mean he’s completely insane.

I really want to play a whole bunch of songs and see what color they all are to him.

But instead I’m blogging about it while the kids play outside. Because little boys should enjoy beautiful fall days, even if they do think the number 8 is a very bright red, and 7 is green.

Motherhood is WAY weirder than I ever expected.

Do YOU have experience with synesthesia? Do you know anyone who has it?

5 thoughts on “But What Color is Thursday?

  1. I read a book where a girl had that. I cant remember the name of it off the top of my head but I will try to remember to ask my mom what it was (it was her book). Very interesting to find out he has that!

  2. I was just talking to one of my neuroscience students about synesthesia last night! He was talking about how scientists believe that the overlapping of two sensory impressions involved in synesthesia remaps the brain in really interesting ways. He had to dumb it way down to tell me about it, but it was fascinating. πŸ™‚

    Emily at Chatting at the Sky has also talked a lot about her synesthesia, I want to say some time last year. You should check it out. πŸ™‚

  3. I have music -> visual synesthesia, which means I see music as colors, patterns and movement. I wrote about mine here: http://fishofgold.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/synesthesia/

    It’s great that your son knows what it is so early. I didn’t even know I had it or what it was until I was an adult. I just thought I was crazy. Hopefully, your son won’t experience that. Synesthesia is nothing to worry about. It’s actually kind of cool to be able to see music while others simply hear it.

Leave a Reply

