In Place of an Emotional Post about my Seven-Year-Old

I present to you many pictures of his birthday. I just don’t have the emotional fortitude today to talk about my babies growing up and leaving me without babies. So instead, the fiercest pirate party in the Spanish Main!

Well, maybe not the fiercest. I’m kind of too cheap for that. But he was totally in love with that rocking happy birthday banner with the pirate stuff all over it. So all was well.

Also I couldn’t find any pirate hats or pirate-themed birthday hats at the dollar store, so he was stuck with a head scarf. So yeah. Maybe I’m lame. BUT. If you judge smiles, he definitely had a fabulous birthday in spite of his mother’s cheap tendencies. And his first present was a pirate costume kit. He’s been wearing that eye patch pretty much constantly ever since, and wielding his plastic sword with true piratey abandon.

Thanks Grandpa and Grandma K! Stinky is very excited to go spend all his money! πŸ™‚

How to Draw Pirates! Art and I gave him several drawing-related gifts, because he has been really into drawing and doodling lately. As soon as we were done with our celebration, he pulled this out and drew a very fierce pirate.

I made him read all his birthday cards. Poor homeschool kids. Mom never stops teaching, even on the weekend. Even on your birthday!

You can see Squeezy’s gift above. I told her to write her name and Stinky’s name on the wrapping paper. That’s what she wrote. πŸ™‚

In this picture, Bubs was holding on for dear life to the gift. Apparently the siren call of the two motorcycles in the package was too great for him to resist.

But clearly it was all worth it to get a big old hug from Captain Stinky there, don’t you think?

With his haul. This is the traditional “Loot Pic,” as required by my family traditions.

And then came . . . BIRTHDAY CAKE!

Just looking at this cake makes me a little twitchy still. I have unresolved cake decorating issues. But in spite of my personal crisis, Stinky LOVED his cake.

In spite of the fruit roll-ups. Seriously. GAG ME. Ha!

And, a few shots from our birthday photo shoot. I haven’t had time to edit them all yet.

Ugh. His eyes get me every time.

And those lashes? Yeah. They kill me.

Happy Birthday, Stinky the Magnificent! We love you so much and we are so proud of you. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “In Place of an Emotional Post about my Seven-Year-Old

  1. He must be a cool kid to wear an eyepatch like that. I wish I had one.

    Happy birthday, Stinky! (I’m hoping, Erin, that “Stinky” is his nickname.)

  2. What are you talking about, Erin? That’s an awesome cake, truly!! That is so cool that Sammy loves pirates! I have a great affinity for pirates as well, as that was my high school’s mascot. Go, Pirates! πŸ™‚ I can’t believe Sam is already 7. Wow. He is such a cute, crazy kid!

Leave a Reply

