Thirty-Three Blessings

Today is my birthday. I can’t lie, it’s been kind of an emotional day for me. Not because of my advanced age– I made peace with my thirties a year or so ago. I know I won’t really be of an advanced age until I’m at least 35. 😉 Christmas just brings out the weepy in me, and for whatever reason this year that seems to be more true than ever. So I decided to focus on my blessings, for they are many, and they are what really matters.

1. Him. My All in All

2. The way my heart still flutters when he looks at me

3. Their laughter and joy and presence with me every day

4. Emails from loved ones far away, even across oceans

5. Inside jokes

6. Friends who bless in so many ways

7. Melody, harmony, rhythm

8. “I love you, Mommy!”

9. Hugs and snuggles

10. Knowing she prays for me

11. Sparkling eyes and wonder-wide smiles

12. Gifts handmade with love, or chosen with care

13. The countdown to commencement (five months, two days . . .)

14. Birthday greetings from friends and loved ones

15. Boys who want CDs of classical music for Christmas

16. Candlelight

17. Gathering as a family to worship God and celebrate advent each evening

18. Sons who are learning to be my heroes

19. The boom of the timpani and crash of the cymbals

20. A God Who Sees; a God who understands our needs

21. “Mommy, is this song from the Nutcracker?”

22. Thick and cozy stripey socks

23. Back rubs

24. 1/3 of my life married to my best friend

25. Introducing my boys to Robin Hood and his merry men

26. The sweetness of her little voice singing to her dolls at bedtime

27. Photoshop, remover of unfortunately-placed pimples

28. Happy secrets, gifts hidden away for days to come

29. Hope for heaven

30. “I think the Christmas tree is perfect!”

31. Feet that come running when Mommy needs a kiss

32. Cozy blankets waiting for me at the end of a long day

33. Another year to count my blessings

 

6 thoughts on “Thirty-Three Blessings

  1. I love that your boys want classical music!! That would definitely make this momma weepy LOL ;-). Also, #21 CRACKS me up!

    I hope you had a wonderful day! 🙂

  2. your list of blessings is amazing. HE is amazing…
    and the weepy, to me, is understandable. the good stuff, the hard stuff, the way it all works together… but i love that you are just taking it in stride!
    happy birthday, dear friend. ❤ ❤ ❤ – ❤ ❤ ❤

    And #19?! i am thrilled that camden made your list! lol!

  3. Happy birthday, dear Erin! You truly are dear to me, and I pray that this is a wonderful birthday and year. 🙂 And when I make my cross-country road trip (fantasy that I am contemplating more seriously every day), I’m looking forward to giving you great big hugs. ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. Happy belated birthday blessings, I made peace with my 30’s 18 years ago! And you are not alone, I so get the weepy part, but for me it usually starts in October and finally lifts by May.

  5. hi. happy late birthday, erin.

    i have missed you.

    “20. A God Who Sees; a God who understands our needs.” i am grateful for this too. need it.

    i am of an advanced age. i am not at peace with it.

  6. I’ve had that song from “White Christmas” stuck in my head. You know the one. “When you’re tired and you can’t sleep, count your blessings instead of sheep, and you’ll go to sleep counting your blessings.”

    Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

