Santa’s Big Scene

Last night the Together clan made our annual epic pilgrimage to Valley Junction in West Des Moines for some rollicking Christmas fun. And let me tell you, I do not use the word rollicking lightly. We wordsmiths must choose our expressions with care.

Behold the rollicksomeness:

TWO candy canes, baby!

Squeezy was Highly Suspicious of Santa, as you can see from this picture. The only way she would go near him was on my lap. Although she did warm up to him enough to give him a high five and whisper “ho ho ho.”

Bubs and I got to pretend to be a window display with Frosty, who sounded strangely like a teenage guy who wasn’t really that excited to be there. But Bubs got another! candy cane! So all was well.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for! A terrible picture of my children in front of the Valley Junction Caboose! In a highly unfortunate turn of events, there was a huge line of people right where my kids usually stand. So they had to pose at the back of the caboose.

You can rest assured that I will be complaining to everyone who will listen about how rude it was of them to have people lining up there. I mean, don’t they know about traditions???

Sheesh.

Art was a bit concerned that he hadn’t appeared in any pictures yet, so he posed with this giant fiberglass Santa. Stinky and Squeezy had to get in there too.

And then he jumped into this picture, which was supposed to be a picture of me and the big guy, but is now a picture of me and my guy and Santa’s beard.

Really, though, true photographic fulfillment did not come my husband’s way until we came across a shop window bearing a banner that said, “where Art is fun, flirty, and fabulous!”

I’m not sure if this is his fun, flirty, or fabulous pose. What do you think? (Side note: Everyone and their mother decided to walk along this particular stretch of sidewalk just as I was trying to take this picture of my husband. And many of them seemed to think it was weird I was taking a picture of him in this particular place. Clearly they lack imagination.)

After a stop in a candy store where we bought candy and also a cheese ball mix, we tried to take a family picture before we headed for home.

I think it turned out well, don’t you?

I hope your December finds you merry and bright!

(And like I always say, if you can’t be bright, at least you can be merry!)

(Actually I never ever say that.)

(It sounds pretty clever though, don’t you think?)

(Just agree.)

5 thoughts on “Santa’s Big Scene

  1. i agree!!!!!!
    and jeepers, if you can get all ten eyes in the picture then i say it is GREAT! looks like it was quite rollick-ing-some? anyway, a GREAT time 🙂 i just don’t understand how why people are not more considerate and got in your way. i woulda kicked them in the shins for you. or told them to scootch down.

  2. It was really bizzare that “Art” was capitalized. I figure they really did mean me, and not just a bunch of pictures or whatever they sold in there.

Leave a Reply

