Currently: Oh, Look! I Have a Blog!

Not blogging is paralyzing. After I hadn’t blogged for a couple weeks I started feeling like I simply couldn’t jump back in without some kind of big epic explanation.

I don’t want to give a big epic explanation. I don’t even have one. Will you accept “Life has been crazy and I haven’t felt like it”? Because that’s about all you’re going to get.

But today, just as I was thinking that I really should just break down and blog, I came upon Heather’s blog in my reader, and her “Currently” prompt seemed about right for jumping back into blogging. So. Here goes nothing. πŸ˜›

Current Books: I don’t have much time to read fiction for my own personal enjoyment these days. Thankfully the kids’ school books are pretty fun. Right now I’m reading Charlotte’s Web to Stinky and The Jungle Book to Bubs. I’m also reading Made to Crave by Lysa Teurkerst with some ladies from my church, which has been really good. And I just finished reading the New Testament from start to finish, and have begun a Bible study about the book of James. Super good stuff.

Current Playlist: I have fallen in love with the music of The Piano Guys. I love the way they present their music, and I love that my daughter now knows what a cello is. We like to watch their youtube videos over and over.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Playing Words with Friends when I should be outside enjoying the beautiful weather.

Current Colors: We’re studying rainbows in our home school this week and next, so I’ve got Roy G. Biv on the brain!

One of today's rainbow projects-- colored rice rainbows.

Current Food: Green smoothies. Yummo.

I've got the kids converted to green smoothies, too. Art is very much not interested. πŸ˜‰

Current Drink: just really trying to drink more water. Only sort of succeeding.

Current Favorite Favorite: Spring! We are having the most beautiful weather!

Current Wishlist: God’s will written in the sky would be nice. A cute new wardrobe. Lots of money to spend on homeschooling stuff. New curtains for my living room. A magical infusion of knowledge of how to use my new photoshop program.

Current Needs: Patience! And maybe a cleaning fairy.

Current Triumphs: I brought enough things to church last night to keep Squeezy occupied through the evening service. This has been a challenge lately! I lost five pounds during the month of February. March is not shaping up so well, though. πŸ˜› I’ve had my lessons planned in advance for two weeks running now.

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Waiting! It’s making me slightly crazy and causing my gray hairs to multiply!

Current Celebrity Crush: My husband. He’s kind of a big deal at his job. Bahahahaha.

Current Indulgence: Pajamas while the kids have quiet time. Ahhhhhhh . . .

Current Mood: A little silly and a lot impatient.

Current #1 Blessing: My amazing family. We have so much fun together. Right now we’re creating a movie together. It’s gonna be legendary. πŸ˜‰

Stinky with his cell model cookie. We studied cells last week.

Current Slang or Saying: I don’t know. I think I must say “Oh for Pete’s sake” a lot, because I recently heard my two-year-old say it.

Current Outfit: flannel pants and an 8-year-old scrapbook.com t-shirt. But quiet time is almost over and I will be forced to put my jeans back on.

Current Link: My rainbow unit pinboard

Current Quote: “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,Β  for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” (James 1:2-4 ESV)

Current Photo: I share this for two reasons. First, because my daughter is getting so big I can hardly stand it.

at the Omaha zoo last weekend

Second, because you can see my hair. Which I haven’t dyed since last May. It’s mostly an experiment and I might go back to dyeing it at any moment. Also, it doesn’t look quite this gray in all lights. Sometimes it looks mostly brown. But still.

I'm 33 years old, folks.

Actually, I kind of like the gray hair. But I still might start dyeing it again at any moment. πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Currently: Oh, Look! I Have a Blog!

  1. I LOVE listening to the piano guys!

    You do such fun homeschool stuff :o) I bet your kids really enjoy it. Good job at reading through the new testament. My mom is going through a James Bible study, wonder if its the same one you are doing. She really likes it.

  2. i have a blog, too!!!! and i gave zero explanation for skipping 3 weeks πŸ™‚ and you, well i know you just wanted to show off that rainbow pin board again- LOL!!! aren’t you glad we don’t just have to rely on our blogs to chitchat?! shmeny aeiouia and gray. i think it is kinda pretty πŸ™‚ maybe let’s call it silver. and you can sprinkle some glitter in. yep. sounds good to me. xoxo

  3. i think that two weeks is not bad at all.
    some people regularly post once a week.
    and i am beginning to think that with face book and twitter…and pinterest…and….email….and cell phones and land lines ….well, you get my drift. once a week is looking pretty good to me.

  4. Sometimes I like my gray hair and I let it settle in. And other times I feel washed out with it. Fickle womanhood! I love all the cuteness in your family!

  5. I love the pic of Squeezy with her rainbow.
    If your hair grays like your dad’s, it will be beautiful. Don’t give up.

  6. I have grey, too — I’m going with it! You wear yours well! πŸ™‚

    {those rainbow rice pictures are awesome!}

    {and I love seeing the Omaha zoo in your pic and knowning we are neighbors!}

  7. squeezy is getting so big. i have been here (at together for good) since you were expecting her. *smile* we can reminisce about this when josie and your boy are married. πŸ™‚

    i am currently (as soon as i hit publish on this comment) making biscuits, gravy & bacon for dinner (husband birthday breakfast dinner). i am planning on gaining the 5lbs you lost at tonight’s breakfast-dinner.

  8. Will you accept β€œLife has been crazy and I haven’t felt like it”?

    LOL!!!! YES, YES, YES!

    Love this. Completely love this. Like sitting down and hanging out with you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

