I Am

How I want to be

one of the women there at the cross

weeping, weeping;

but I fear I am one of the disciples

asleep in the garden.

I am Judas

selling the Savior for silver.

I am Peter

denying I ever knew Him.

Far worse, I am there

at the cross, but not with weeping.

I am the soldier with the hammer

pounding in the nails,

blood staining my hands and my clothes.

I am the crowd

mocking.

I am there,

casting lots for His clothes while His blood flows.

Oh yes.

I am all the villains in the story.

I am all those sinners.

I am the reason He died.

I am the one He loved with His life.

And so are you.

 

3 thoughts on “I Am

Leave a Reply

