Some Thoughts

Thanks to my husband, there are now curtains in five rooms of our house now! That only leaves three still in need!

Sometimes I think that the right to vote gives us this feeling that somehow we are in charge of who leads us. This isn’t true. God is sovereign and He has control over the masses just as He has control over individual leaders.

We are saving our pennies and nickels and dimes during the month of November so that we can bless someone at Christmas. Today I told my boys I had a couple chores they could do to earn fifty cents, and Bubs told me to just put his in the jar. Made my mama heart sing! (I put fifty cents in the jar and gave him a quarter to keep.)

In the last week, I have read or heard about the importance of gratitude in at least three, maybe four different places. Do you think God is trying to tell me something?

We are now shamelessly listening to Christmas music in our house pretty much all the time. What can I say? We love Christmas!

In September I started seeing a new rheumatologist, recommended by my dad. He put me on three new meds and added a fourth about three weeks ago. I am so excited to be seeing real progress in how I am feeling. While my hands are still stiff and far from perfect, my general aches and pains have decreased so much that I can now run up and down the stairs nearly as fast as my boys. In fact, one of them had to get out of MY way today. It’s been a long time since that was true.

In related news, one of my drugs causes hair loss. For most people this might be a crisis, but I have so much hair that so far it’s actually been kind of nice. My hair is so much more manageable now, and I’ve been getting compliments on my natural silver highlights. πŸ™‚

We are drawing slips of paper out of a jar this month to inspire us to be thankful for different things, and to show our gratitude through action. Today we are thankful for our legs! Squeezy and I may have celebrated by dancing around the kitchen, but don’t tell, because we live in a Baptist parsonage and I’m not sure dancing is allowed.

This sign is on the railing of our front porch.

Today I accidentally forgot that I was correcting my fourth grader’s writing, not working in a college writing lab anymore. I think I made him cry. I did apologize. And I told him he should take it as a compliment. Because his writing is definitely better than some of the papers I used to have to fix when I worked in the writing lab. You college kids should be ashamed. πŸ˜‰

I am supposed to be writing our church’s Christmas program, but I have decided that procrastinating is more fun. Hence this rocking blog post.

I cleaned my bedroom today. It looks so much better in there that I kind of just want to sit in it. Except I don’t want to have to remake the bed.

I can’t think of anything else to write, so I guess I’ll be done! Have a great day!

One thought on “Some Thoughts

  1. i am glad you are feeling better.

    send some of your extra locks my way. my hair is too thin.

    sometimes i make my kids cry when i correct their writing (and i don’t have the education you have). i had an entire conversation recently with josie relating writing to eggs. i told her she was making scrambled eggs but is capable of eggs over easy. when i relate school work to food she cries less. she likes food.

Leave a Reply

