July 2013: The Month of the Blog

Someone told me yesterday that I should have a blog. Heh.

I’ve been pretty terrible at the whole blogging thing lately, haven’t I? And by lately, I mean for like the entire year. Possibly longer. I have been suffering from writer’s block, as well as this thing called busyness. I’m sure I’m not the only one who struggles with that.

But I have challenged myself to write in this poor dusty blog every day this month. We’ll see if I succeed. Some days may be kind of pathetic, I’m just warning you. Some days might be verbose. I will try to include pictures of my cute kids, for the sake of entertainment.

But today I’m just going to give you a little catch-up on how our lives have been going in the last several months. It’s kind of like a mid-year Christmas letter, only without the winter or the bragging. Or the Christmas.

Okay. It’s really nothing like a Christmas letter.

Back near the end of January I started trying to live healthier and lose weight. 2012, between the stress of moving and Squeezy’s eye surgery and Art’s graduation and family losses and, well, pretty much everything in the first half of the year, as well as the prednisone I started taking in October, I gained twenty pounds. Which, added to the baby weight I never took off, put me at my highest non-pregnancy weight ever. Sad. But thankfully the arthritis meds have been doing their job, and I was feeling better than I had in years. So I got serious about working out and eating healthy.

29 pounds

I know that December picture is horrific. I wasn’t going for a lot of full-body shots at that weight. The second picture was taken about a week and a half ago, 29 pounds down. I’m about halfway to my goal weight. If you want to know my weight loss secret, I will be glad to share. Eat less and move more. I know it’s super revolutionary.

So . . . what else. Art has been finding a love for gardening this spring and summer. It’s the first year he’s had time to really have a hobby, and he is doing such a beautiful job with our yard. His grandparents had a beautiful yard, and it appears that they passed on their talent with growing things to my husband.

petunias

Hopefully my children will inherit the family green thumb, too, instead of my ability to kill even the plants that people assure you will never die. Yeah.

Squeezy turned four in April. She was very pumped to be the birthday princess. She is already telling me pretty much daily that she’s almost five. Just no.

squeezy 4

We finished school at the end of May. It was kind of a hard push to the finish. Next year I must be more disciplined about staying on track!

Art’s stepmother passed away at the beginning of June. Art was able to make a trip out to Oregon to be with her and his dad before she passed. It was difficult, but a blessing at the same time.

I have given my boys new blog names! Bubs is now Angry Ranger, and Stinky has the more grown-up, manly name of Darth Piggy. These are also their user names on our new homeschooling blog, but since it’s July and we haven’t done any school in more than a month, we’ll talk about the homeschooling blog another day.

Angry Ranger went to junior boys’ camp at Iowa Regular Baptist Camp a few weeks ago. While he was at camp, he took this picture.

Angry Ranger Selfie

You can imagine my pride that my ten-year-old took a selfie in the bathroom mirror at camp. Following in his mama’s footsteps, this one is.

Our family spent last week at a church conference in Dearborn, Michigan. I’m hoping to blog more about it later this week, so I won’t overwhelm you with pictures, but it does look like I need a picture of Darth Piggy here, so here’s one of him after he lost his tooth while we were driving to Michigan.

lost tooth

He also lost a tooth the day before we left for our trip (Saturday), and another one on Tuesday at the conference. So that’s three teeth in four days, and the Tooth Fairy is broke now.

So this week we’re kind of chilling at home. Today was a day for a lot of catch-up work in the house and yard, and we have epic plans to go watch a parade and maybe eat some cotton candy on Thursday.

And now you know what’s been up with us. What’s been up with you?

4 thoughts on “July 2013: The Month of the Blog

  1. i missed you.
    i’ve been lagging in the blogging, too.
    i might post 2x this month. might.

    you look fantastic. i should eat less and move more.

    squeezy can’t be 4 or 5…she must always stay little. ‘nuf said.

  2. Oh, Erin, you look so nice!! I’m so glad for you! 🙂 I have been totally out of the blogging world lately, too – reading and writing – it’s just something I’ve had to give up for that season, and I’m pretty much okay with it. I do miss keeping up with people – like you! But my family (and sanity!), are more important. 🙂 I’m glad you’re blogging again, at least for a month, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

