Yummy New Recipes!

Today we had the best dinner, including a couple new recipes that I found via my good pal Pinterest. So I thought I’d share them with you, in case you’re trying to eat healthy too! Or if you just like good food. Cuz people, this was good food.

This picture has nothing to do with this blog post, but you know. Cute kids. They deserve to be seen and adored.

This picture has nothing to do with this blog post, but you know. Cute kids. They deserve to be seen and adored.

So our menu was grilled pork chops, corn and basil cakes with chopped tomato and avocado salsa, and broccoli. I marinated the pork chops overnight in fat free Italian dressing, and Art did them up on the grill. Roasted broccoli is one of my go-to vegetables for meals; I just spray the pan with olive oil spray, toss the broccoli on, spray the broccoli with the olive oil, and sprinkle on some salt and pepper. I usually cook it until I remember to take it out of the oven– maybe 10 minutes or so at 400?

Anyway, that was the easy, brainless part. The new recipes were for the corn cakes and the salsa. These were, in my opinion, fabulous. Art loved them too. The salsa was great on both the corn cakes and the pork chops. The kids weren’t huge fans of the corn cakes, although Angry Ranger and one and a half before he made that decision. Darth Piggy ate a whole one but said it wasn’t his favorite. Squeezy might have licked hers before she decided she didn’t like it. But they were easy and yummy enough to the adults that I think they’re worth it. šŸ™‚

So, the corn cakes recipe. I found it here and changed it up just a little; I used less basil, added some chopped green onions, and didn’t fry them in oil but just sprayed the griddle with olive oil spray. I also used canned corn, because it was all I had on hand. They were a little runny; maybe next time I’ll use a little more flour; but as is they had 79 calories apiece, which is just about right for a nice side dish. šŸ™‚

The salsa recipe I’m going to actually include here, because I changed it enough that I think it’s okay to do that. The whole recipe is for a different version of corn cakes which look AMAZING, but aren’t as healthy. šŸ™‚

Chopped Tomato and Avocado Salsa

original recipe from Ezra Pound Cake

1 cup chopped tomato
1 green onion, chopped
1/2 jalapeno, cored, seeded, and chopped
1 T chopped fresh basil
2 T chopped fresh cilantro (we love cilantro! use less if you’re not a fan!)
about 1 T lemon juice
1/2 avocado, chopped

Mix everything but the avocado. Add avocado immediately before serving.

Y’all. This stuff was amazing. So good. I left out a bunch of ingredients b/c I didn’t have them on hand. It just tasted so fresh and summery. Fabulous.

So. There’s a few recipes for your Saturday, and an idea of what Erin’s eating these days. Yum yum yum!

One thought on “Yummy New Recipes!

  1. These babies are extremely versatile. They make perfect little party bites, but could also be made as 4 inch cakes for a hearty side dish, a vegetarian meal, or the base of a savory south-west breakfast! They taste great warm and at room temperature, and the citrus in the salsa does a fine job of keeping the avocado green throughout the course of the evening! You could actually make the corn cakes hours, even a couple days before. Then reheat them for your event.

Leave a Reply

