Not Afraid

Sometimes I am afraid of what the future holds. I am afraid what it holds for my children; will they face real persecution because of their faith? We’ve had it so good for so long here in our little corner of the world, but it certainly feels like the winds are changing. And I’ll admit that sometimes it scares me so much to think of my own children having to stand for their faith in ways I can’t even really imagine. It could happen.

God doesn’t want us to live in fear. I believe this. His Word tells us over and over to “fear not.” It’s a command. And He gives us what we need to live in faith instead of fear.

This is what I know. I know where I’m going to spend eternity. I know because I have trusted in Christ’s death on the cross on my behalf to rescue me from sin. The Bible tells me that while my own works are nothing– worse than nothing– Christ’s death is fully sufficient. I am believing in Him, and the Bible says that because of that I’m on my way to heaven. I don’t know how I’m going to get there. Maybe I’ll die instantaneously and unexpectedly. Maybe I’ll be Raptured (I’m kind of hoping for that one!). Maybe I’ll suffer a long and drawn-out death. I don’t know. But I know where I’m going.

And I know this, too. That old song that I remember Mr. Boldus singing from the pulpit on Sunday morning? It will be worth it all when we see Jesus . . . That song is exactly it. None of it will matter. None of this world’s pain and grief and sorrow and suffering will matter when I look into the face of grace. Whatever I face, whatever my children face, it is so small in light of forever with Jesus. So small. His glory so great. They can’t even compare.

I know one more thing. I know that I have a Rock that I can cling to through all the storms life throws at me– and I know that my children can cling to that Rock as well. And I know that He has a plan and a purpose for every thing that happens to me, to my family. I know this. I cling to it; I believe it with all my faith– which is strong on some days and painfully weak on others. He is good and He is God and He will be glorified in the end.

He is faithful and He asks me not to fear. Oh Lord, give me strength to be faithful and to not be afraid.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. ~the Apostle Paul

2 thoughts on “Not Afraid

  1. We’ve been talking about this lately too. And where is the line between safety and standing firm. If it was just us – without children to care for -it would be so simpler.

  2. This week I have really been hit with the reality of the persecution my children, and our future generations will face… I live in California after all… and last week two relatives were “married”… uh.

    I cry to Michael, and am saddened by tolerance, and pray hard…with “all my faith” that my children, and their children, and their children’s children will be faithful to the LORD their God… even when everyone else is fickle that every single one of them will be whole-heartedly committed to Him.

Leave a Reply

