Currently– An Update on Me

So yeah. I really want to be back to blogging more in the New Year. I know I say that at least twice a year, post four times, and am never heard from again. I guess we’ll see. Anyway, I’m here tonight, and I was going to post something deep, and then we watched The Great Muppet Caper and my husband and I tried to have a conversation while all three of my children took turns standing between us, so I just decided to do this kind of post instead. Because I cheat. And because it’s my blog, so I can.

Current Books:
Be Encouraged by Warren Wiersbe
Liberty of Conscience: Roger Williams in America by Edwin S. Gaustad
Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections by Madeleine L’Engle
Discipline That Connects with Your Child’s Heart by Jim and Lynne Jackson
Sweet Agony Two: A Writing Book of Sorts by Gene Olson

That’s a pretty long list, but it’s not as crazy as it seems. Be Encouraged is what I’m using, along with my Bible obviously, for my morning Bible study right now. Glimpses of Grace is just a daily reading that’s less than a page long each day. And Sweet Agony Two is my pre-bedtime read, because it’s lightweight and therefore easy to hold onto in bed, and it’s also amusing but not so engrossing I can’t put it down. So really I’m only reading two books, which I think we can all agree is almost shameful and I probably should add a few more to the pile. 😉

Current Playlist: My Laura Story Radio station on Pandora is my general favorite right now. Although I also do a lot of listening to Darth Piggy practicing guitar, and Pooka singing “Let It Go” at the top of her voice.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Spending time in the bathroom reading because it’s the only place the kids will leave me alone. I know. That’s not a very juicy guilty pleasure. It’s January 9th. Give my resolutions a few more weeks and we’ll see how I’m doing then. 😉

Current Colors: I’m enjoying my white, silver, and blue snowy decorations I put up for January. I expect to enjoy them for a limited time before I’m ready for spring.

Current Food: I made these super good Southwest Turkey Burgers the other day. Everybody but Pooka liked them, but she doesn’t like anything unless it’s spaghetti.

Current Drink: Lots of water. And more water. So far today I’ve had 96 ounces!!! (So some of those bathroom trips aren’t just for reading . . .)

Current Favorite Favorite: Early mornings with my Bible and journal and a cup of coffee

Current Wishlist: About three more hours in my day

Current Needs: Lots and lots of wisdom and patience for homeschooling

Current Triumph: I’ve gotten up to exercise early six out of the nine days of this year.

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Memorizing a verse a day, which I decided to do for the month of January. No big deal, I said to myself. Memorizing has always been easy, I said to myself. Now I say to myself, Self, you are getting older and your brain cells have been sucked away by your children.

Current Indulgence: Afternoon naps as often as I can get them.

Current Mood: Pretty chilled out. The kids are in bed; Art is playing Super Mario World; my blanket is cozy and my chair is comfortable; and I’m about to have some ice cream and read a book.

Current #1 Blessing: Friends and church people and family who pray for me!

Current Outfit: jeans with long johns under them (I had to go shopping today and it’s like Antarctica exploded on Iowa out there), my super awesome Mountain Meadow Resort t-shirt from our family vacation in September (It’s neon pink), wool-blend socks my mom gave me for Christmas, and a sweatshirt.

Current Quote: Psalm 145:1 “I will extol You, my God and King, and bless Your name forever and ever.” (This is the verse I am supposed to memorize today)

Current Photo: This isn’t really very current. It was taken in Mitchell, South Dakota, on our family vacation last September. It kind of goes with my random mood today. 🙂 Rabbit has crazy eyes.
I don't even know

Leave a Reply

