From the End of the Earth

My heart is overwhelmed.

Seems like my state of being most days lately– so many things happening. So many sorrows, hard times. So much bad news. And on the days when everything outside seems okay, my vivid imagination invents all kinds of things to worry about. The enemy of my soul knows my weak spots and he whispers lies and twisted truth, until I am a desperate mass of weakness and weariness. In this heart there is no peace, just chaos.

My heart is overwhelmed.

I have so many questions. I bring them to my Father and I say help me and what about this and I don’t understand. He always hears me, sees me, welcomes me into His presence. He doesn’t always answer my questions. He reminds me that He is God and that is enough. I struggle to believe, to live without the answers. I may be without answers but I am never without hope, without my Savior.

My heart is overwhelmed.

I consider the God I serve, read about Him in His beautiful Word, and I well over. I pray for my eyes to be opened, for the dark to be lifted so I can behold Him with unveiled face. He is glorious in His power, enthroned in majesty. He is steadfast in His faithful love to me, and He is the God Who Sees. He is great enough to juggle galaxies, small enough to capture my tears in a bottle. He is beautiful beyond all description, and an eternity with Him will not be enough to reach the depths of His perfect and holy heart. He sees my fears and He cares about them. His Spirit is my Comforter, whispering peace and words of truth into my wild heart. He is my good Father.

My heart is overwhelmed.

He leads me to the Rock, higher than I. He leads me to His Word and He says, see this: My peace I give to you. He commands me to be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving make your requests known to God, and He promises the peace of God, which passes all understanding, will keep your heart and mind in Christ Jesus. He says to me My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in your weakness and He gently reminds me to take every thought captive, to think about what is true. And then He shows me Himself: Behold, a white horse! The one sitting on it is called Faithful and True.

Oh, this God. This God we think we understand. He is sovereign over all. There could never be any end to the praise He deserves.

My heart is overwhelmed.

 

 

2 thoughts on “From the End of the Earth

  1. Praise the LORD our God for drawing near to a heart that is overwhelmed by all the noise of this world and overwhelming it with Himself.

    And thank you for reminding me that that IS Who He is (this mama, with a senior in high school, is so overwhelmed and NEEDED this good reminder).

    I adore Him in you, Erin.

    Take heart!

Leave a Reply

