Monday Meanderings 3

Today I was walking home from Bible study, and as I walked up the hill by our church I noticed that the house behind the church had pink glowing windows. I spent a few minutes trying to figure out what would make the windows glow like that, and then I realized that it was coming from the sunset. As I got to the top of the hill I turned around, and sure enough God was painting a beautiful sherbet sky in the west. And I thought about those people I know that just seem to have a glow– something special that seems to come from them– and how clearly and beautifully they reflect the God they love. I could have never turned around to see the sunset tonight, and I would have known it was beautiful because of the windows of that house. But the windows merely piqued my interest, so that I turned to face the glowing sky, and I was able to see the true glory of that moment. I don’t know. This felt very deep to me this evening. I would like to be the kind of person that makes others want to look at God a little harder. I think that’s what it means to glorify Him.

********

Saturday night I ironed Angry Ranger’s new pants and shirt that we got shopping for him last week. They are man clothes. I don’t feel like I’m really old enough to have a son wearing man clothes, but the tags don’t lie. And neither does the fact that we’re looking eye to eye these days. Sunday is his piano recital and I can’t wait to hear him play. It is a joy to be that boy’s mom, even if he is wearing man pants.

********

It’s Leap Day and we celebrated by doing nothing at all. Sabbath Mondays have become such a beautiful part of my life in the last four weeks. Art painted and read books, Angry Ranger stayed on the couch (he wasn’t feeling well), Darth Piggy and Pooka rode down our driveway in Pooka’s old stroller about 500 times, and I finished two books and sent some emails and took a nap and went to Bible study. Tomorrow starts another busy week, but we will all be better able to face it because of this day of rest. Also I love finishing books. I’m up to 17 books finished this year, with several more in process because I am not the kind of person who only reads one book at a time. I wish I had lots more time to read, but I’m thankful for the time I do have, and honestly I’m thankful for the good things in my life– like homeschooling and keeping my home and being a wife and mom and friend and teacher– that keep me from reading more. God is good. 🙂

*********

My Monday Meanderings aren’t very long today, but also not as stupid as last week’s, I hope. I’m tired and ready to not really be thinking anymore. Have a lovely week, my friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

