Monday Meanderings, Week 7

We are in the middle of the busy and the crazy of several completely insane weeks on the family calendar. And in the midst of this, I hear this small voice saying to write. I am trying to have faith that, if I walk in obedience and write, I will be blessed with time for everything else. This is a crazy kind of faith. Writing takes time and mental and emotional energy I don’t really feel like I can spare right now. But I cannot shake this idea that it is the thing God wants from me right now– my words.

Cain brought fruit and Abel brought a lamb, and Abel’s sacrifice was pleasing because it was the thing God wanted. I say, but Lord– look at this and this and this and this, all these good things I am doing– and He says, yes, but this is the thing I desire. I share this because it feels like such a battle right now, to choose time to write. And I believe that we fight battles better when we are not alone, so will you pray for me? Even if you truly have no idea what I’m talking about? πŸ™‚

********

Angry Ranger did NOT get braces today. There was a mixup with his appointment schedule, and he is due for application next Wednesday. He is glad for the reprieve, but I think he’ll also be glad just to get them on and move on. You know how that is.

In the absence of the brace face picture, please accept this proud mama brag instead:

tfc

This was Angry Ranger’s first year taking part in Talents for Christ, and we are super proud of him and his 1 Rating. πŸ™‚ So thankful for the talent God has given him, the privilege of allowing him to take piano lessons, his wonderful teacher, and the chance to take part in events like TFC.

Our whole family dragged along to cheer the teenager on, and we had such a fun day which, obviously, involved multiple selfies as well as pancakes and loudly cheering when his placement was announced. Because we love him. And he loves us, especially when we act embarrassing in public. Obviously.

********

Last Wednesday our homeschool co-op had a talent show/show and tell day, and it was so much fun. We have such a great group of kids and mamas. Angry Ranger played the piano, and Darth Piggy played the guitar, accompanying me on a beautiful rendition of “Homeschooling Mama” to the tune of “Wayfaring Stranger.” Pooka decided not to participate, because she is capricious. I have no other explanation. But it was just a lot of fun and we hope to be able to do it again next year. πŸ™‚

********

The kids and I have been working on memorizing John 15 for the last several weeks. We’ve learned eleven verses so far! I’m amazed at their capacity for memorization; I feel like it’s a constant battle to cram the verses into my head, and they just get it so fast. But it’s getting in there, and I love how it is affecting my thought processes. I really recommend taking time to memorize Scripture. If a whole passage intimidates you, just start with a verse. I can’t describe how many times God has brought these verses to my mind when I start freaking out about something– Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me. I am the Vine, and you are the branches. Whoever abides in me, and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for without me you can do nothing. I find these words running through my head when I start giving into worry or fear or panic about this or that church thing or discipline thing or whatever. So powerful!

(I tried to type the verses up there without looking and I totally failed. So clearly I still need some work . . . LOL!)

********

Art is off at a churchy conference thing today, so this afternoon the kids and I are heading to my parents’ house for tacos and bonding time. Mom and I have to figure out the devotional we’re going to give at a ladies’ event our church is hosting next week. Dad and the kids are going to do something fun. I’m kind of jealous, but at least there will be tacos. I feel good about the tacos.

********

In honor of April being National Poetry Month, I shall close with a haiku:

This post is not long
but it ends with a haiku
so that’s a good thing.

I would write more stuff
but I have nothing to say
except, “tacos! yum!”

Leave a Reply

