Saturday Morning Poetry, edition 1

Disciple

followI have been called, and I have been chosen–
Not because of me but because of You–
You said I had spent enough time being frozen
And set me on fire with a task to do.

And though I’m afraid, and though I’m not worthy,
Yet You are my Shield and You are my song.
My failures are simply a space for Your mercy–
In all of my weakness You show Yourself strong.

Your love overwhelms me, I’m drowning in grace;
You draw me to You and do not let me go.
You clothe me in righteousness, lift up my face,
And patiently guide me, though my pace is slow.

I can’t see the future; my back’s to the past;
But You are my vision, my guide for today.
Let me be content and let me be steadfast
Abiding in You, my Life and my Way.

2016 by Erin Jo Kilmer
togetherforgood.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

