Monday Meanderings, Week 16

So last week I went to camp. As a counselor, because apparently 37-year-olds are not allowed to attend as senior campers and their screening process for counselors is pretty lax. πŸ˜‰

Seriously, though. What a great week. I had the best group of girls and a co-counselor named Katie who was a total kindred spirit. We had so much fun and laughed so hard that hyperventilating was a near-constant threat.

camp10

God blessed me with a bunch of amazing young ladies in my cabin– several that I could relate to on a pretty deep level as homeschoolers and pastor’s kids. They were such an encouragement to me and blessed me in so many ways. I did have this traumatic moment on Thursday when one of the girls asked how old I was and then told me I was the same age as her mom (traumatizing on its own– these were high school girls and in my head I am NOT old enough for that!) but that I seemed way older. Erm, thanks? I suppose to a 16-year-old maybe that seems like a compliment.

I am still really trying to process my week, because at church camp it seems like God is always at work doing big things and you’re just kind of caught up in it. But in the middle of the amazing times of worship and preaching and one-on-one conversations with my girls, I had a ton of fun.

I went down the zipline, which is always amazing.

camp2

camp3

These are the fabulous girls in my cabin. I miss them all so much! They were such a joy! πŸ™‚

camp1

Camp is a fabulous place for selfies, as you can see.

camp4

Cheering on our team during a game called “Scandball.”

camp6

In the following picture, we are enjoying a delightful camp concoction called a Chipper. Amazing. Also you can see the t-shirt I tie-dyed, at least part of it. It is a glorious creation. We enjoyed our treats while cheering on the boys from our church in the football tournament. They won silver, so go team! (Their team name was Trees ft. the Shrubs, which in my opinion should have won them first place just by itself.)

camp7

Here we are flaunting our gold medals, which we won for cabin cleanup on Thursday, much to our surprise.

camp5

On Friday afternoon our whole cabin hung out in the Craft Cabin and made bracelets. Mine caused me a bit of a struggle at first but eventually I got it, and trust me when I say that the finished product is a thing of beauty.

camp8

On the last night of camp, they had a huge bonfire and we all sat on the hill until our back ends were numb, singing songs and eating treats and listening to testimonies. Also taking selfies. I have no idea who half the girls in this picture are, but at least they were smiling, am I right?

camp9

What an amazing week. I’m so thankful for my parents taking the kids so that Art and I could both go as counselors. I’m so excited to see what God is going to do through each of these precious girls. And I’m excited to see what He is doing in me as a result of this experience.

He is a great God, and He is doing good things. πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

