Currently– September 2016

It’s been awhile since I blogged. Last week our family went camping for a few days, complete with many fun adventures including hiking down near-vertical hills, rain and drizzle and general dampishness, tangled kite strings, and a game of Scattergories in which one of the favorite answers was Engelbert and Bob Save Christmas. After the crazy summer we had, a week off was just what the doctor ordered, and now here we are on September 1, getting back into our routine and looking forward (kind of) to the full force of all our fall activities starting next week.

Today I’m starting back to writing in my blog more faithfully, I hope, and I thought a Currently post would be a good way to get back into the swing of it.

Current Books: Right now I’m enjoying Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand and Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard. I recently finished Ben-Hur and the audio version of Moby Dick. My new audiobook is Don Quixote, which I might be listening to for the next five years.

Current Playlist: I’m really enjoying podcasts while I do housework or drive places. Anne Bogel’s What Should I Read Next gave be both of my current books, and I just this week started listening to The Allusionist. Also still listening to Daily Audio Bible.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: The bajillion books I read last week while we were on our little vacation. Including three YA novels, because sometimes you just gotta go light. Also Star Trek: The Next Generation on Netflix.

Current Colors: I don’t feel particularly excited about any colors right now, although it is now September and I’m looking forward to fall foliage.

Current Food: Grapes. I’m obsessed with grapes.

Current Drink: Water. And coffee. And water.

Current Favorite Favorite: Hugs from my children. And flip-flops, which is sad, because flip-flop weather will soon be at an end and I’ll have to cram my feet back into stupid shoes again.

Current Wishlist: A haircut, a cleaning lady, and a date night with my husband.

Current Needs: I don’t know. Self-discipline comes to mind. LOL

Current Triumph: Getting through about 96% of yesterday’s to-do list

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Organization and busyness and how I use my time. I’m working through the book Homeschooling at the Speed of Life and trying to figure out how to do all the things God has given me to do without losing my mind. Also my son is working on this train model thing and was just hammering in his room. Before 7am. Also math.

Current Crazy Thing: Our whole family is doing the Couch to 5K program. I’m not the worst runner in the family, but I’m definitely not the best either. We started in the middle of the Iowa summer heat and humidity, so that’s been a joy. LOL

Current Mood: Pretty happy. I’ve been studying God’s grace in my devotions this week, and it’s hard to study God’s grace and not be happy.

Current #1 Blessing: God’s patience with me. I test it regularly. It’s still there. The steadfast love of the Lord NEVER ceases, can I get an Amen?

Current Outfit: Still in my pj’s. It’s only 7am.

Currently On My Mind: Getting ready for our church’s new children’s ministry, which starts next week, as well as the classes I need to plan for our homeschool co-op, which also starts next week.

Current Quote: “God does not expect me to pour out anything He has not already poured into me.”

Current Photo:
IMG_2884

This is us on a hike last week. The grass was well over my head for part of the trip, and I feel like it’s kind of a miracle we didn’t lose Pooka.

Current Reality: I started this blog post at 6:30, and now it’s 12:15 and I’m just finishing it up. This is homeschooling. LOL

Leave a Reply

