Vacationitis: AKA the Post I Probably Shouldn’t Have Bothered With

I have an absolutely terrible case of Vacationitis. This is a very real thing, at least as bad for Teacher Mom as it is for Homeschooled Students. We have two days left of school for the semester, and then we will be done till January. We have five days till we head off to the wilds of Nebraska for Thanksgiving. I have so much to do before then, but my brain is already on vacation.

Things that sound fun:

  1. Watching movies
  2. Reading books
  3. Enjoying witty repartee with friends on Facebook
  4. Reading blogs
  5. Shopping
  6. Eating a really big lot of food
  7. Reading books
  8. Going out for coffee
  9. Playing mindless computer games
  10. Naps interspersed with reading books
  11. Playing Christmas music on the piano
  12. Talking to my husband about books
  13. Staring off into space for awhile in between books

Things that do not sound fun:

  1. Wrestling my children through another math or grammar lesson
  2. Housework
  3. Cooking any meal ever again
  4. Making a packing list for our trip
  5. Hanging up the vast quantities of laundry all over my bedroom
  6. Reading anything about politics
  7. Putting on anything that is not stretchy
  8. Counting calories
  9. Planning a church Christmas program, the music for Sunday, or my day
  10. Budgeting for and purchasing new curriculum for next semester
  11. Mopping the kitchen floor
  12. Dealing with another fight/ whiny child/ slammed door/ hurt feeling
  13. Christmas cards

Basically, I am what my sister would call a deep struggle. And in all honesty I don’t have any answers for myself except JUST DO IT, YOU BIG LAZY FACE.

Unfortunately, my lack of motivation is also translating to a lack of creativity and inspiration for this blog. Which is why you get this fascinating post today.

I can’t be the only one. What do you do when you’re fully lacking every kind of pathy? (Pathy is clearly the opposite of apathy.) Do you force yourself to just do it, or do you give in and embrace the laziness? I’m curious. And procrastinating making a plan for my day that will undoubtedly fill be with guilt at the END of today when the only thing crossed off is “breakfast” and “naptime.”

Have a wonderful day, my friends. May your day be filled with far more motivation than mine is. Or not. Whatever you prefer. 🙂

One thought on “Vacationitis: AKA the Post I Probably Shouldn’t Have Bothered With

  1. This used to happen to me ALL THE TIME when I worked for the newspaper and I was working ahead for a few weeks off. Those last couple edits of my articles were sheer gritted teeth. I usually give myself a time limit – just work on this for x minutes and then you can do something fun. I find once I start, I’m more likely to continue. It’s just getting started that’s the problem! Good luck!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

