Light in Darkness

faintfringes-sunsetI am the Light of the World, He said.

That life was the light of men.

I want to live in light, to let its warmth flood over me,

to know the comfort and brilliance of the sun,

a fire in the hearth,

the lamp by the chair that welcomes me into its glowing circle.

He tells me how to get the light.

Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.

The light of life.

But–

maybe it’s just me, but–

things seem pretty dark, a lot of the time.

Not just out there, in the world, where I expect darkness.

Not just in politics and poverty and pitiless people parading their prosperity.

Things seem pretty dark around me. You know,

in this little spot where I am, where Jesus promised I would

have the light of life.

Because I am following Him.

Trying to follow Him.

I don’t get it. He says, look deeper.

And there it is– your word is a light to my path.

Jesus’ light for my life, all focused down to a beam

directing my feet.

And there is a promise– the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn,

which shines brighter and brighter until full day.

A little light for today, growing brighter as I walk the path

before my feet.

Oh, sometimes the light is so small.

Sometimes it seems to disappear entirely.

And today, I think this– the One who said

I am the Light of the world

also said

you are the light of the world.

And I wonder, if someone else might be in darkness today,

desperately searching for

the warmth of light on their face,

the hope of even just one little candle lit against the night.

And I wonder if, maybe today,

when the light seems so hidden from me,

maybe I am the light for someone,

filled with real Light

shining out through all the cracks and broken places.

Maybe, when we are in the darkest places,

we are shining brightest.

The light shines in the darkness,

and the darkness

has

not 

overcome

it.

 

Leave a Reply

