Walk This Way: A Place to Start

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI have named this the year to walk, and it’s interesting how even six days in God is teaching me that my expectations aren’t usually headed in the same direction that His plans are. Every single day I have to lay all my ideas and expectations before Him and ask him to direct my paths afresh.

In the last week, I have been overwhelmed by how many times God’s Word talks about walking, about paths and roads and ways, about following. I want to take the time each week in my blog this year to focus on what God’s Word says about our walk. And truly, there is only one place to start. That place is the cross.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

I don’t know all the people who read this blog. I just know this– Jesus is the only way for every single one of us to come to the Father.

We try to make our own roads, you know? Forge our own paths? This is the American Way. We are strong. Pioneers. Boldly going where no one has gone before. That’s all really great, but there are some things where there is no such thing as our own roads. And this is one of them. There is absolutely no other way to God except through Christ. None. We are entirely separated from Him by our sin.

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.

I fall short of His glory every day, but because of Jesus I have been brought near. In spite of my sin, because I trust in Jesus as my Savior I no longer receive the penalty for my sin.

The wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.

The penalty for my sin– death. Eternal separation from God. I fall short of His glory, and without Christ I would just fall shorter and shorter until one day I would be separated from Him entirely and eternally. BUT THE GIFT. The gift of God– the gift I have received– is eternal life. Life that lasts forever, in the very presence of God. So instead of falling shorter and shorter, I am drawn nearer and nearer to His beautiful, satisfying heart.

Oh, friend. I wish I could believe that every person who reads this blog has received that gift. That every person who reads this blog knows Jesus, the WAY to God the Father, the WAY to life that is not just eternal but is also abundant, here and now, today, in the midst of all the griefs and sorrows and turmoil of this world. But I know better.

And so I would be remiss, as I begin my year of walking, to fail to start here. Because we can try to walk according to the Word of God– we can try as hard as we like, but if we don’t know Jesus we aren’t on the right path. All our walking is leading us nowhere except further into our separation from the glory of God’s presence and the joy and peace of relationship with Him.

God offers us a gift– Jesus, His Son. God tells us that there is no other way to come to Him, to have freedom and abundant life and a future in the very presence of the God of the ages, than to come through Jesus. He is the only Way. Without Him, we deserve and we receive death that starts when we’re born and never truly ends.

We do not have to pay that price. Jesus already paid it, on the cross. God loves you. He loves you so much He sent Jesus to pay the horrible wages of YOUR sin, so you wouldn’t have to. Friend, if you don’t know Jesus as your Savior, it is never too late.

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved.

That’s all it takes. Just believing that you are a sinner and He is the only way of salvation. He has already given His life for you. All you have to do is trust Him.

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.

Everlasting life, and abundant life, and understanding of what is true, and a daily way into the presence of God– the throne of grace, where there is forgiveness and help for every need.

Before we walk by faith, we must be in the right path. Jesus is the only way.

Will you join me in simply trusting Jesus as I walk this year? The first step is at the cross.

Jesus is the Way.

Leave a Reply

