Slapdash Saturday, edition 17– I’m not sure anything actually happened this week

So it’s Saturday, and I really don’t have anything very exciting to say. I suppose that’s nothing new, but this time I’m owning it. So I guess I will do what I always do when I have nothing to talk about, and just talk on and on about nothing.

You’ll thank me later.

I mopped my kitchen and dining room this week. This probably doesn’t excite you much, but it’s the third week in a row I’ve mopped, and that’s nothing short of a miracle. We will never ever discuss how long it had been between moppings.

I have taught my sons to clear the table after a meal, and it’s so awesome. Truly. I’m sitting here typing while they clear the breakfast dishes. How’s that for good mothering? Ha!

Have I mentioned that my children are obsessed with the Titanic? They are. They spend great quantities of time every day reading books about it and drawing ship designs based on the design on the Titanic. Except, of course, their designs truly are unsinkable. πŸ˜‰ Art’s dad sent them some documentaries about the shipwreck, and last night instead of our normal family feature movie night they chose to watch one of those. I love my kids. Although it’s kind of depressing.

In other my-kids-rock news, Bubba has read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and Prince Caspian this summer. Little dude is going into second grade in the fall. I’m just a little proud of him.

I don’t talk about my arthritis on this blog very much these days; I have a hard time talking about it without it turning into a huge pity party or coming across like some kind of hero, and since neither is really true I just don’t talk about it much at all. But one of the blogs I read regularly is Rheumatoid Arthritis Warrior, and this week she posted about Pierre-Auguste Renoir, and artist who had RA. I found his story to be extremely inspiring; near the end of his life he had to hold his paintbrush lodged between two fingers, but he kept painting. You can read about him here; be aware there is one small picture of a nude painting in this article.

Another fun find recently was Catalog Living, which makes fun of the pictures in home decorating catalogs. It makes me giggle every time. And if you’re a fan of Gary Larson’s The Far Side, you really should check out this post on Cake Wrecks. Oh my word. Serious funny.

Squeezy has really started talking up a storm recently; she takes after her mother, apparently. Words she has added to her repertoire of late include down, up, ball, soft, cookie, and no-no. I’m not overwhelmingly happy about that last one. πŸ™‚ I’ve been writing poetry using her words as inspiration; you can check it out over at my poetry blog.

I posted this video on facebook the other day, but if you missed it or aren’t on facebook or just want to watch it again for fun, this is Squeezy Bug showing off her mad dancing skillz. In a tutu no less.

This afternoon, Kim from Making Our Own Adventure is coming over for coffee. We went to college together, and she blogs now, and once she gave us a humidifier, and I think this afternoon we’re going to talk about blogging because I am such an expert. Or not really. But it’ll be fun to catch up anyway.

My daughter has learned a new trick and now knows what to do when we say “push up your glasses.” How cute is that?

And now I should go do some cleaning, so Kim has a place to sit when she visits. I’m sure she’ll appreciate that, right? Ha!

Have a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “Slapdash Saturday, edition 17– I’m not sure anything actually happened this week

  1. what a “pretty” little dancer. she looks smart in her glasses.

    emilie asked me who the girl was in the video,i said that’s “squeezy bug.”

    noah read the narnia series when he was 6/7 too. sounds like your going to have an avid reader on your hands too. it’s a wonderful problem to have.

  2. Such an adorable little girlie! Loved the vid πŸ™‚ BTW, what was the song? I… like the catchiness.
    Thanks for the distracting links! Much awesomeness therein.

    ❀ I knew you had RA, but I didn't realize what a dramatic affect it had on everyday life. Thx for being real ❀

Leave a comment